Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A number of people opine that sports are merely a leisure activities meanwhile a large proportion pf population advocate the notion that it is crucial to our society. From my own perspectives, other than a concept of recreation, sports serve key social and culture purposes.

On the one hand, that people define sports as a kind of entertainment is based on self-evident fact. A handful of citizens participates in sports to ameliorate the colossal pressure and don’t consider them as an essential segment of their life. To illustrate, in Vietnam, football constitute the king sports and nearly every individual either watch it or play in amateur soccer match. They relish allocating purposely unproductive time on integrating into exciting crowd when their local team score or talking endlessly about how incredible they had performed in the last game. If polled, a majority of population unsurprisingly would proclaim sports as a vital recreational activity in their daily basis.

On the other hand, the ascendancy of sports in social life is invincible given that it is obviously undeniable glue for communal bond. When it comes to athletics, whoever you are, you will undoubtfully congenially welcomed. Take my country, Vietnam, as an example. In 2018, when our team competed in a continental competition, the nationally unanimous quiet moment every waited for penalty to the extent that you can hear the pin drop or turned into a commotion when we scratched home will always be indelible for our nation. Via luxuriating in these moments, we can effortlessly communicate without hesitation. Moreover, athletics find its spotlight in shifting cultural attitude thanks to it worldwide reputation. The #metoo movement has shed light on a problem that has been underexposed and lengthily allowed to exist.

In conclusion, despite the ostensible purpose in entertainment, sports also play a crucial role in many social spectra. Therefore, it stands to reason that sports is a healthy hobby when not taken to obsessive extreme.