Differences between countries are becoming less evident nowadays. People tend to have the same films, music, bands, TV channels, etc. To what extent do you think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays many hold the view that the similar entertainment among different countries has many advantages, while there is a body of opinion holding that this trend is negative. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the recreational similarity may enlarge social network. On the average, this uniform recreation can provide participants with numerous common topics, which will increase the possibility that some of them communicate with each other frequently when they happen to stay together, such as traveling to another country. In addition, enjoying the same entertainment may promote cooperation. To be specific, similar entertaining activities may help people from different nations form the same thinking pattern, which can allow workers in cross-border companies to understand one another easily when they engage in group tasks.

On the other hand, however, the uniform entertaining activities may impair cultural identity. When people are taking part in the same leisure activities, local entertainment characteristics will disappear soon or later, which may cause a situation where native residents can hardly feel accepted and respected. That is why the majority of the countries in the world are trying to protect their own recreational culture from vanishing by emphasizing its importance in mass media.

To sum up, there is no doubt that entertaining similarity possibly improve social network and is helpful to improve the cooperation. At the same time, however, the same recreational activity may lead to the impairment of national cultural identity. In the final analysis, one can safely conclude that the advantages of the same entertainment are more obvious.