Different types of robots are being invented which are good friends to humankind and can help them with work and at home.

Is this a positive or negative development? (Vietnam,2021.04.24)

Since the recent advancements in the technological domain, robots have been gaining in popularity at home and work alike. In my opinion, although the widespread use of robotics technology is not without its drawbacks, it appears that, in general, this is a positive development.

Critics of robots helping humans often point out the accompanying rising unemployment rate and over-reliance on technology. Since robots are capable of functioning with absolute precision and without fatigue at work, they are deemed to become substitutes to humans in many sectors, particularly in manufacturing processes, making a colossal number of factory workers redundant. Furthermore, humans may become over-depend on robots when they become acclimated to robots being at their disposal. If their computerized machines malfunction or break down, they may have trouble having finish work.

Nevertheless, putting robotics technology into practice is a change for the better due to the productivity and safety that it brings. At many workplaces, robots with their capabilities to execute repeated manual tasks rapidly have freed many from humdrum tasks. This not only helps boost productivity but also allows employees to devote valuable time to tasks that require creativity and innovation. Robots can also be a replacement for humans in hazardous working environments. For example, a growing number of unmanned spacecraft nowadays complete space exploration missions, lowering the risks of fatal accidents for astronauts. At home, robots equipped with artificial intelligence can take on the role of a caretaker as well as a companion to citizens, especially the elderly. Not only can robots help senior citizens with household chores but they also are used to mitigate loneliness and dementia since these robots are able to hold basic conversations and even displaying human-like emotions.

In conclusion, the fact that robots are now universal both at home and work may make some worry about redundancy and heavy reliance on technology. However, the increased productivity and safety that advanced robotics brings make it an acceptable development. Government and corporations should invest more in this technology.