Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people hold an opinion that parents of children who study at private schools should not need to make contribution to state schools through taxes. Personally, I’m in opposition to this view.

For a myriad of reasons, it seems unjustifiable to cut down taxes for families who pay for private schooling. First, it would be inconceivable to calculate the exact amount of tax reduction for these families, as it would require a costly human involvement to manage this complicated process. Second, there are already some tax-paying mandated services that people may not use. For example, many people are lucky enough not to have to call the fire brigade or ambulance in case of disastrous events at any time in their lives, but they would not contend for tax reduction for this. Furthermore, there would be a clear-cut issue of social inequality where the wealthy have to pay lower taxes than the poorer ones if rich people were given a tax deduction for sending their children to private schools.

In my school of thought, people should all play a fair role in paying taxes to contribute to and develop public schools. It will do wonders for all members of society to have access to an advanced education system that the young were given equal opportunities irrespective of backgrounds. This will lead to a better future workforce that consists of well-educated people, and in turn a more productive and prosperous nation. Families who send their children to private schooling will one day realize the merits of paying equally shared taxes in their own lives. For example, many international companies often demand high-skilled workers and competent staff to do the work, and only a well-funded education system can provide such employees.

To conclude, I totally oppose the idea of making any financial concessions to those who choose private schooling.