Task 2: The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that technological advancement has allowed our civilizations to enjoy an absolute degree of security and welfare as it helps to reduce crime rates compared to the old days. I agree with this opinion owning to the endless advantages associated with technology.

A century ago, people suffered daily from either minor delinquencies or high-profile crimes due to the primitive technology available to ensure public safety. Whenever a particular criminal case happened, a victim had little choice but to report the event to the local officers without guaranteeing future protection. They had to put up with an unsolvable crime due to a lack of evidence, as the security system in the old days were lack of the practicability and validity to track offenders who often successfully got off the hook from the police. For example, a high-profile case occurred in the US during the fall of 2000, in which more than dozens of people were mysteriously shot dead by an unknown sniper in Washington DC. Only seven years later was the criminal arrested by the FBI agents on account of a lack of evidence and glues to track him down, causing public insecurity and vulnerability at the time.

Nowadays, it is apparently evident that the development of technology provides a larger degree of social security for the entire populace. One example of technological advancement that helps solve crimes is data mapping providing police departments with a clear geographical look at the crime types and the crime rates that happen in a particular area. Drug rings and traffickers are typical fundamental cases of how data mapping can be helpful to the police. It also helps the police identify problems in a community and allows them to strategize effectively to help tackle crime. In addition, with the development of social media, the public now can enjoy a much more degree of human rights as they can instantly report and draw public attention to crime and unjustified lawbreaking cases that bystanders on social media can act as witnesses to help solve crimes. Technology also strengthens the efficiency of street surveillance, which plays a crucial role in deterring ex-convicts or would-be offenders as they are vigilant to numerous cameras around them.

In conclusion, it is evident that with technological advancement, society is increasingly becoming more secure than at any other time in human history.