One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people live longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Medical development has enabled people to enjoy higher living standards as well as longer life expectancy. However, this does not come without disadvantages. In the school of thought, they are undoubtedly outweighed by the enormous benefits this development has displayed.

Firstly, it should be acknowledged that an increased life expectancy is likely to come with the burdens of the senior population. While it is evident that older people with years of experience are an indispensable part of the labour workforce, they also can stall progress if they refuse to retire and occupy positions meant for their younger counterparts. Moreover, resources devoted to the older population hardly produce any returns for the economy in particular and the society in general. At the same time, it places a burden on the active labour force, especially with an ever-growing number of elders.

On the other hand, the advantages are indisputable. First, experienced employees can still contribute their hard-earned skills and insights without obstructing their younger counterparts, as long as companies adopt policies solely designed for them. For example, several organizations have introduced a so-called “ senior payroll” scheme. People passed the retirement age with relevant expertise can work on their projects and receive bonuses per profit rather than being official full-time employees. In addition, to the individuals, a longer lifespan means more time to enjoy life. After serving the society for years, it is only just that person who finally finishes the “rat race” be granted the right to pursue personal interests. The more time one has after retirement, the more chances he or she earns to lead a more fulfilling life. Therefore, it is natural that virtually everyone strives for longevity.

In conclusion, while the debate might continue on whether increased life expectancy is a bane or a boon, in my opinion, the number of benefits is still dominating.