High school students are usually not good at managing money. What are the reasons? What are the solutions?

Indeed, not many high school students are born to be good at managing their finances. There are two indications thought to be the culprit for this failure, but some measures can be taken to eliminate the problem.

It is believed that high school students may often be incapable of managing money due to two main reasons. Firstly, going through puberty years would be the best example of this, during which adolescents often reveal their rebellious manner and lousy conduct, asserting their independence as they prepare to enter maturity. Children during such age tend to murmur that parents are overprotective when advising about money matters. Secondly, Advertisements tend to sway them since they are very impressionable, and since the media have become more witted in tailoring market tragedy to persuade teenage consumers to buy goods or products that they may not use, thus resulting in waste of money. Furthermore, high school students sometimes, irrespective of the cost, take on credit to buy ‘must have’ items, such as expensive clothing items or the latest iPhone.

There are steps parents, and the authorities should take to deal with this issue. From the early days, parents should nurture their children in logical and well-designed ways to have well-balanced children later. Parents must impart wisdom and appropriate ways of living on their children to be rational individuals and be considerate when it comes to using money, thus helping their parents save money for a good cause. In addition, Government also has a role to play, as does parental involvement. They have to put restraints on the operation of media companies and limit broadcasting stories of celebrities leading glamorous and lavish lifestyles, particularly in the booming field of online advertising, as children at such young age are likely to be vulnerable to images of specific products with dazzling and success.

In conclusion, educating and guiding high school children on how to use money wisely is not an easy task for the reasons mentioned, but parents and Government can take some common-sense principles.