IELTS Essay: Traditional Festivals

In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing.

What problems is this causing?

What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

Nowadays, some traditional festivals and ceremonial celebrations are now on the brink of dying out. In my opinion, this predicament is caused by the difference in political ideologies of increasingly oppressive states and the effects of a rapidly-changing world.

One cause of the dissipation of these celebrations generally concerns the systematic repression of the ethnic minorities imposed in autocratic states. These ethnic groups are forced to change their traditional lifestyles and cultures to assimilate with the majority. For example, in Xinjiang, the Chinese government is currently engaged in eradicating the local Uighur culture in order to ensure uniformity in the country. Many ethnic people have been arrested and put in reduction camps for practicing long-established religious celebrations and being overly religious, resulting in the loss of their unique traditions. Furthermore, as more cultural groups have greater access to the outside world and move out of their hometowns to find food and jobs, it will be hard for them to maintain their old traditions to pass on to the next generation because of the enormous influence of modern lifestyle and globalization.

International action, individuals, and initiatives promoted by governments worldwide are the best solutions to stop traditional cultures from vanishing. In light of recent events in Xinjiang, the United Nations condemned China for its brutality against the Uighur people and took action to put pressure on China to stop the oppression. International communities now defend these groups to help them continue maintaining their traditional customs and religions. Nevertheless, governments in any part of the world can make the most significant change; for instance, states can set up programs locally or virtually that aim to promote traditional festivals and educate young people on the importance of preserving traditions. This happens already in many universities and schools across Vietnam, where traditional festivals are held for students to encourage the wearing of traditional clothes and celebrating the culture of ethnic minorities.

In conclusion, the loss of traditional festivals is caused by authoritative state policies or is a by-product of globalization, which threatens and damages the cultural identity of various groups. The action of individuals and governments can tackle this development.