Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. Agree or disagree?

There are some policymakers and reformers arguing that young and adult offenders should be treated equally. In my opinion, despite the ostensible equitability of this policy, it omits critical psychological factors.

Those who advocate the equal treatment of all ages, point out that this will engender/ create an immensely deterring impact. The main objective that all individuals are punished is not solely for justice but as a means to prevent the events of future re-offending from ex-criminals. At an early age, youngsters are taught at schools about the consequences of committing a crime that breaking the laws will be punishable and might receive the death penalty. Thus, if these condemnations are overlooked, then chances are young people will attempt to violate the laws, even if the rates of juveniles committing criminal behaviour are at the lowest in human history

Nevertheless, age is solely an extenuating circumstance. While youngsters might not grow mature enough to grasp their actions that might lead to delinquency, adults who become law-breakers have had more time to develop socially and intellectually. For example, it is not uncommon for young people now to be influenced by extremist, negative online influencers, particularly on social media, such as Tiktok and Facebook. It is the nature of young minds that are impressionable and susceptible to these circumstances, and thus, they often lack the knowledge and maturity to protect their safety. This vulnerability goes beyond affecting their emotional and psychological development and justifies laws that secure young people from receiving capital punishment.

To conclude, there are justifiable reasons to uphold equal penalties for all ages; this proposal would be unfair to youngsters. Judges or courts should take into account a range of elements before announcing a particular punishment.