In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The practice of televising criminal trials has been gaining interest over the last decades and has been applied widely worldwide. It is evident that the advantages of broadcasting criminal court cases far outweigh the drawbacks as it will greatly promote laws and justice due to its transparency.

Broadcasting criminal trials on TV can potentially cause prolonged discrimination and reinforce stereotypes in some countries. For example, there was a typical case broadcasting in the US in which two black innocent men were put on trial for allegedly sexually harassing a child. This sparked public outcry and violence aimed at the alleged offenders, who eventually were given a pardon by the judges after years later. However, the national broadcast of the trial, coupled with biased mass media constantly reporting the case at the onset of the event, had fundamentally fueled widespread hostility against the black community as the images of dark-skin people associated with negative things embedded deep in the mind of the citizens even though these two men were found not-guilty eventually years after the incidence. Consequently, such hostility even morphed into physical violence against black people in many sections of the professional world, causing unfair treatment in areas of life and dividing the country further.

Nevertheless, one of the chief advantages of showing court trials on TV is to provide transparency and deterrence. In some countries where the judicial system is corrupted and thus not trusted by the citizens, most legal proceedings are conducted behind closed doors. Therefore, it would be a practical step toward greater justice by televising court cases that the public can supervise. This could not only help reduce the probability of misconduct and unfair verdicts rendered by the judges and all parties involved in a court case but also provide educational values to those who lack legal knowledge, thereby helping the whole legal system gain trust and confidence among the people through transparency. In addition, public exposure to criminal trials can deter potential lawbreakers as they realize they can be subject to public humiliation and stringent legal consequences if they have any ill intentions of breaking laws.

In conclusion, despite the possibility of public discrimination caused by televising criminal trials, the benefits of enhanced transparency, public education, and deterrence are more significant.