News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

It is evident that editors are supposed to make tough decisions about which news stories they broadcast or publish, and it is unequivocal that their choices are somewhat influenced by several factors. While we are constantly exposed to bad news, I believe that it would be much better to welcome a greater emphasis on good news.

Editors now face a variety of considerations when deciding what news stories to focus on. Firstly, there is innumerable false statements and alternative facts made by famous figures or political candidates around the world that are believed to be provocative, most of which are the growing interests of the public, which affect the decisions of publicising and broadcasting news stories from media outlets to some degree. Secondly, the prime function of media outlets is to help people to keep abreast of world news and current affairs, and they should therefore prioritise stories that are in the public interest. Lastly, editors might be put under pressure by their superiors for business interests or political bias. For example, a private newspaper owner may have an ardent inclination toward a particular political party that she or he wants to promote and support.

For the time being, it can be seen that people increasingly become acclimated to negative news; we are regularly exposed to news and stories about war, crime, tragic human suffering and natural disasters around the world. For example, there was a wide range of reports from media outlets about the chaos and besiegement caused by those Taliban terrorists to the Afghanistan civilians, which created public outrage globally. As a result, such news took a huge toll on people’s psychological and mental health. Therefore, such negative news should be reduced as much as possible, but not completely. They should be replaced by other positive information and reports such as volunteer programs, the stories about the work of doctors and medical staff helping infected patients in a time of the Covid-19 epidemic and the kind-hearted actions of volunteers who help their local communities in such a difficult period.

In conclusion, though editors find it very difficult when choosing which news stories they should present, it is paramount to report and publish positive news to the public.