Nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space designs instead of separate rooms. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend toward open-plan office space is indeed on the rise as the world is developing into a global village to forge a sense of unity. Although there are some drawbacks of using open-space models, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

The main drawback of using open-space designs is that there might be unwanted distractions while working, which would affect the company’s productivity. For example, when a particular group of employees is conducting business in an undivided workspace and they need a sense of tranquility and a high level of concentration, but other nearby groups are discussing current affairs and inadvertently making noises by forgetting to turn off their mobile phones. Thus, such nuisance might result in a delay of daily task achievements in former groups, and in turn, decreases the overall efficiency of the company. In addition, open-plan layouts also pose a risk of spreading viruses, particularly respiratory diseases, because employees are working in close proximity and constantly having conversations with one another. Therefore, it could lead to disastrous health-related incidents if there weren’t any safety regulations regarding the wellbeing of the entire staff within the workspace.

Nevertheless, there is a myriad of advantages that open-plan layouts can offer. First of all, using an open-space model can benefit the business financially since it helps to reduce the reliance on heating or cooling systems and cuts down the expenses of electricity bills, primarily thanks to the increased flow of air and light. Secondly, being in an open-space environment helps the staff develop a sense of companionship and understanding through many spontaneous and genuine conversations during working hours. Thirdly, this model also helps improve the quality of collaboration and teamwork as employees can hold group discussion and staff meeting whenever they want, which heighten businesses’ overall productivity. Furthermore, companies can benefit from the shared use of open-space design resources, as they don’t have to allocate finance to buy workspace equipment such as printers, copiers, and staplers.

In conclusion, while some possible drawbacks may arise when using the open-space design, this type of workspace model is far more beneficial and will do wonders for businesses as a whole.