Some people today have argued that countries should interfere less in the affairs of other nations.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many debates have taken place over the past few years over the issue of whether nations should restrict their intervention with other countries. In my school of thought, despite the theoretical ideal of this type of isolation, it would result in far-reaching problems today, given the political upheavals happening in some parts of the world.

Advocates of this change contend that it would allow countries to flourish independently. Throughout history, there have been thousands of bloodshed events in which countries tried hurting one another, most notoriously during European colonialism. However, there are evident problems also being bred. For example, the US often supports either overtly or ambiguously respective governments that are compliant with American interests. The positive result is that these countries have minimized autonomy to experience trials and errors, become more independent and eventually prosper. Despite the helpfulness of these interventions, as in the case of international aid, they all engender a sense of dependency.

Nevertheless, discarding all interference in other countries could give rise to many dire ramifications. The US is the perfect example here as it is most involved in world affairs. If the US discharged all of its international armed forces, it would leave vulnerable holes for other vicious countries to exploit and seize certain worthwhile economic zones and territories. Another example is when the US withdrew international troops from Iraq, leaving total control of the nation in the hand of the aggressive Taliban regime, causing significant ramifications in the middle east. This might be beneficial in the long term if the international community were to uphold isolationist policies. However, in the short term, there would be political upheavals that could lead to potential wars.

In conclusion, it is advisable for countries not to interfere deeply with the affairs of other nations, but this stance proves to be impracticable in the modern global village. Countries should instead find a way to support each other when needed while thriving for independence.