Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the number of accidents has been rising steadily, which lead to the rising concern over the safety issues on the road. While a lot of people think that traffic incidents can be reduced by implementing strict rules, others believe there are more effective solutions that can be used to enhance road safety.

On the one hand, It is understandable to charge a heavy fine on people who have reckless manners while driving on the street, which often leads to car-crash accidents or fatality events. For instance, drivers who use their phones whilst commuting, often unaware of the impending consequences. They can either be a victim of road accidents or be a culprit of getting others who driving next to them injured unintentionally. Therefore, strict laws and monetary fines will act as a deterrence to traffic offences. Consequently, such a heavy fine policy will make them more alert when travelling on the road. As a result, heavy punishments will do wonders in improving road safety and secure the wellbeing of the citizens.

On the other hand, there are alternative solutions that the government can take on to minimize traffic accidents, such as installing more surveillance cameras, limiting speed driving. Also, improving the quality of infrastructures and facilities on the roads such as traffic signs and lights to make them more noticeable to drivers. Moreover, the government can opt to promote safety-driving orientation programs for teenagers in order to facilitate them with good driving conducts and knowledge about the possible consequences if they fail to conform to the traffic rules. Those young people who meet their driving requirement age should be strictly assessed and graded before being allowed to start driving.

In conclusion, I totally agree that strict laws will help to reduce traffic incidents. However, there are also effective alternative solutions that should be taken into consideration.