The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that advent of state-of-the-art technology is link directly to lower crimes these days. I disagree with the argument since growth of technology also causes increament of crime cases and education is responsible for the disappearance of the negative acts.

The first rationale is that under the facade of crime rate contraction, criminal activities which utilize technology actually increase. For instance, Chinese government has equipped surveillence camera system in all major public places in the country which result in low crime rate. However, this is a violence of personal privacy of citizens. More importantly, the overexploitation of technology to combat unscrupulous acts would place people at risk of being victims of hi-tech crimes. The authorities which tend to neglect threats from technological crimes, is regularly the target of internet-based crimes. Under the circumstances, criminals may steal a large amount of personal information. This would pose a great threat to million people's financial and personal security. Another drawback is that cyber attacks are sprouting all along with the development of internet based activities. Technological equipment and applications are taken advantage by hackers to steal important information from internet users, which is the main culprit of loss of money from bank account or organisational confidental information.

Furthermore, development of education plays a vital role in the reduction of criminal behaviors. As the litteracy rate has went up significantly in the last decades, people are highly aware of negative impacts of wicked things. Thus, they may attempt to stay away from getting involved or avoid being victims of such criminal acts.

In sum, technological advances may not be the main reason behind the drop of crimes because of the boom of criminals on internet platfroms. In addition, better education also accounts for the phenomenon.