Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using facebook as a means of online instruction.

Due to the rapid spread of pandemic coronavirus, all the Vietnamese schools and institutions are driven to be temporarily closed. However, it seems that this mishap could not stop instructors and learners from imparting and obtaining knowledge thanks to online instruction via social networking sites like Facebook. In my point of view, that teachers and students work on Facebook presents both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, Facebook provides teachers and students with numerous merits. First, it is convenient that learners and teachers can work from home during this crisis-ridden period to avoid getting exposure to the virus. They can also enjoy the time working in their own rooms without having the possibility of going out in the extreme weather and being stuck in traffic congestion. Moreover, teaching and learning through Facebook is cost-saving since there is no need to spend on accommodation , transportation and eating outside. Additionally, some subjects such as Physical Education and some extracurricular activities do not requires online instruction, which gives students more spare time to engage in their favorite interests or learn new soft skills.

On the other hand, using Facebook as a mean of online instruction appears not to be an actually good measure as it brings ample drawbacks. One of the most disadvantageous sides of this kind of distance education is the diminution in productivity. Both learners and instructors are unable to interact with each other on Facebook effectively because they are limited by the fluctuation of Internet connection which does not occur when they work in class. They also cannot stay concentrate well as working for hours in front of their computers’ or smartphone screen. Furthermore, studying on Facebook may distract students from their learning since they are tempted by many other things such as surfing the Internet or watching films. They also tend to spend more time enjoying rather than dealing with their assignments because they are not constrained by class regulations and being monitored by their lecturers. Gradually, they are likely to be exhausted with piles of homework and have a big gap of knowledge.

To sum up, although Facebook is beneficial to teachers and students in this challenging situation, it is undeniable that its obstacles outweigh its advantages, and that it could not never substitute teaching and studying in class. However, it is better for students to adapt to various ways of learning including distance learning as well as set good self-discipline and self-study so that they can keep up with their study progress in any circumstance.