Discuss the effects of watching television

Nowadays, there are many programs on television have been shown to serve people’s entertainment needs. Not only are the programs abundant in content but they also are in good quality. The fact that the number of programs that bring good effects to people, especially young people, are not much, however, their benefits cannot be denied.

First, watching television can help people to broaden their knowledge. There are a lot of programs which, like discovery, documentary, and news, give people with useful information. Everyday around the world, events always occur that people have to update necessary news. Therefore, people can know more about science, history, animals, and human as well by watching television, and they can apply that knowledge to their life. Besides, watching TV is one of the fastest ways to get information. Instead of waiting for newspapers updated information and then reading them in the next days, people can directly get pieces of information they want by watching live programs on TV.

Second, television can affect children’s schoolwork in other ways. Recently, more and more channels have programs for students. It is very important to give students useful tips resolving problems in their school life about pressure, love, and friend. Furthermore, educational programs also give students good lessons, perhaps, chiefly, at Math and English, so students can approach knowledge without paying any fee.

Final, watching television is a good way to people get rest. Television is a standard entertaining equipment in most homes. In spite of the fact that personal computer is more popular, television cannot be replaced. Most of families in Vietnam still have a habit that, in the dinner or weekend, all family members will watch television and share life problem together. In addition, the more developing of economy, the more people ask for entertaining. In the result, more and more kind of programs which, such as sitcom, game-show or live-show, give people have more choices when they want to unwind.

Conclusion, if people choose good programs, they can get good influences in their knowledge, studying and mind. Therefore, people have to know what programs are suitable or unsuitable for children and effective or ineffective on them, and people should not spend lots of time to watch television unless it can harm them.