Do the advantages of private means of transportation such as cars and motorbikes outweigh the disadvantages, compared to public transport (trains, buses and taxis)?

These days, both private and public transport are being used widely. However, I may suggest using public transport instead of personal one because I am of the opinion that the cons of using personal vehicles exceed the pros, compared to mass transport.

On the one hand, commuting by private transport may lead to some rising issues, including traffic congestion and air pollution. If one travels by his own vehicle, he may contribute to the world's increasing air pollution. To explain, cars and motorbikes produce a large amount of carbon footprint, which leads to the greenhouse effect. As a consequence, using those types of transportations may contribute to the steady decline of the environment's health. Moreover, traveling by private transport may contribute to the number of vehicles on the roads. As a result, the travelers of those means of transportations may contribute to increasing traffic congestion, typically in the rush hour in many megacities.

On the other hand, despite the adverse effects of personal vehicles, the travelers can derive many benefits in terms of personal independence. They can go virtually everywhere they want at any time while mass transport may be impractical and unavailable in some particular places. Furthermore, the commuters can reduce the time travel to one place if they are competent navigators.

To conclude, whilst traveling by cars or motorbikes may be more convenient than traveling by buses, taxis or trains, I believe we should limit personal transport if we want to prevent traffic congestion and air pollution.