Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

These days, it is true that TV is detrimental to people’s communication in some ways. Although this problem can be attributed by a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this.

On the one hand, there are several reasons for this problems. First, since there are thousands of TV programs broadcasted, people tend to glue their eyes to screen to get a sense of relaxation, in lieu of going outside and catch up with other people. In fact, the attractive motions and contents from TV bring watchers a great deal of mental rewards, which trigger their curiosity rather than casual talks. Second, by watching TV continuously for a long time, people are easily addicted to it. This means that they would prefer sedentary life style which they sit in front of their TV for hours, instead of taking part in outside activities or doing exercises with other people, which would lead to their isolation.

On the other hand, some solutions can be took into account to solve this problem. The first solution is that if the government can establish the campaigns that educate people and help them to understand clearly the bad impacts of watching TV, they would reduce watching and use their spare time for other activities, such as having daily conversations with neighbors. Secondly, parents should restricted their kid’s watching time and encourage them to joint outside team games with friends, which helps build up their soft skills, like problem solving skills or co-operation skills.

In conclusion, despite of some causes of TV that impact detrimentally to social communication, some possible solutions can be considered to tackle this.