Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

These days television is one of the major sources of entertainment. Majority of people believe that today invention of TV is the reason for communication gap between friends and family. This essay will discuss why and how television has affected the communication between people.

Although people these days have hectic schedules and imbalanced work life , during free time they tend to watch shows. As a result of which many people end up binge watching the show, this usually happens because they lose track of time. For instance , 90% of the population opt to stay at home and watch their favorite movie or show and not meeting up with their friends , this has also reduced the amount of physical activity people usually do.

Since television offers numerous options for people to watch ranging from comedy to drama , it attracts individuals to leave other things and invest time in watching. Certainly this affects the social life of a human being and he starts spending more time indoors instead of hanging out with friends. For instance when a family sits down for dinner , they pay more attention to the news or show that are being played on the screen rather than communicating. Consequently a communication gap comes into existence because of this ignorance and people don’t open up to their own friends and family. Furthermore many people also suffer depression due to this.

To conclude, although with the advancement in technology we have television as a source of entertainment and to pass our time but it has affected our relationships severely. Due to which people don’t get to spend time with their friends and families.