Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising can tell you a lot about a country.

A commercial film contains various features as well as the country's cultural values. Even though showing of cultural aspects of commercial films may dependent on the main purpose of advertising, the viewers are enabling to grasp the country's information directly and indirectly regardless with the nature of the advertisements.

Advertising contains may information. Depends on the nature of advertisements, the message of advertising can be vary and it contains massive information. Also, the information that focused on the product varies. Some might focus with the function of the products while others focus on the effects of the products. For example, the advertising for a cereal can provide a huge range of data; the ways to eat cereals, the nutrition values and the effects of the products, but the advertisements are only focusing one aspect at a time. By doing that, the viewers can understand about the product well and which can be different from a country to a country.

In contrast, the nature of advertisement is dependent upon the purpose of commercial film but viewers can still see the cultural aspect of advertisement. In the case of language used, background (environment) scenes and the methods of eating related to the cultures indirectly. However, if the advertisements are related to travelling, then the viewers can get more knowledge about countries. Likewise, the nature of products provide the information about the country in a direct or indirect way which we may not aware of.

In conclusion, advertising has been telling us about a country directly or indirectly. We have not aware of cultural value by looking a the products in commercials.