“Pupils of secondary schools ought to adhere to uniform”. This essay agrees that uniforms should be mandatory for juveniles when attending to the school because it is one of the best methods to discipline them and to reduce the peer-pressure as well.

Were young students to wear whatever dress they like, it is very difficult for teachers to discipline them. In other words, teenagers are naturally attracted to new fashions, hence they tend to try new items on even to the school, thereby leading to frequent disciplinary actions against them. The advantage of a proper dress-code is that it automatically controls their external appearance from the hair-style to the shoes. For example, according to the annual newsletter of the national education ministry, in schools where the uniform is compulsory teens are 95% less likely to be punished than the students who wear casual to the school.

In addition to that, wearing a uniform aids in decreasing pressure from school mates. Put simply, the children of rich parents are able to purchase latest fashion items, whereas socially disadvantaged students cannot afford them; therefore, this difference results in high peer-pressure, which is unhealthy for teenagers. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claimed that peer-pressure is 75% less in schools that have a formal dress code than to schools where students wear informal dresses.

In conclusion, this essay agrees with the viewpoint of it is essential to make high school students wear a formal uniform to the school. As a result, not only do they discipline themselves, but it also relieves the peer-pressure.