Do you agree or disagree with the statement that government should invest money in science education rather than other subjects to develop country?

In our modern society, establishing an appropriate national educational framework is of paramount importance to the development of any country. A school of thought believes that science subjects should be a priority with more essential investment than other disciplines. I strongly disagree with this belief, because many subjects are equally as important as science, or even more so.

On the one hand, language education plays no lesser role in the development of nations than science does. While science subjects are the backbone of the economy which contributor to these ideals and knowledge to manufacture nearly a whole of the existent merchandise, language subjects are a useful tool for expanding mutual understanding as well as international co-operation. Furthermore, taking Singapore as a typical example where devoting an excessive amount of time and effort to generalizing English as a compulsory subject in public schools is one of the most industrially developed counties.

On the other hand, history is also a more important subject than several technology subjects, which may instil a sense of patriotism in students, and as a result, they can be more willing to contribute to their hometown shortly. A host of third-world countries witnessed a vast of well-known scientists who choose to migrate and settle in developed countries for better living and working conditions. This brain-drain phenomenon can be limited if history has more attention from the educational departments of these countries.

Finally, it is irrefutable that science subjects are major contributors to the development of the economy in almost all countries. Thanks to these subjects, each country can reach a balance between the standard of living and ideal working hours for ordinary citizens, such as Scandinavia countries. Nonetheless, this is not a plausible reason to only concentrate on promoting science subjects without caring about others, which are empowered to the ubiquity of disregarding subjects considered not important as science subjects among students in this day and age.

In conclusion, the merits of other subjects should not be underestimated, and therefore the governments should play a vital role in making a balanced framework for students with reasonable distributions of every subject.