Driverless cars

In near future, most transportation media will operate without drivers and only commuters going to be inside while travelling to their destinations. In this essay I will look at both advantages and disadvantages, but in my opinion, I strongly believe that the benefits overweigh the risks.

One of the significant disadvantages is that there will be higher unemployment rate with in a community. While developed countries might be able to tackle this issue by formulating new job opportunities it is unlikely poor and developing countries to cope this with same extent. Higher unemployment with unskilled workers will put additional burden on countries economy by increasing dependent population who seek for assistance from the government. Spending on uplifting lives will reduce the amount to be spent on development projects hence their financial statuses going to affect further as a nation. For example, significant number of working force in Sri Lanka has become trishaw drivers so that it is the sole income for their families and losing their jobs is a disaster.

On the other hand we can avoid major accidents by using driverless vehicles. Human error cannot be completely eradicated even with the best of hands. In addition consumption of alcohol and other sedating agents will clearly affect the judgemental capacity of individual driver hence become more prone to further mishaps. However, driverless vehicles will be process through major technical advancements, so that it is unlikely to come across with tragedy. For instance, Japan is maintaining driverless bullet trains for decades without major accidents.

In conclusion, it is inevitable that modes of transportation will embrace the latest technology more and more, which might cause new problems like higher unemployment rates especially in developing nations, in my opinion, I really feel avoiding major accidents in roads through ultramodern technology is more beneficial than presumed disadvantages.