In some countries more and more people become more interested in finding out about the history of their houses

There is an increasing trend among citizens in certain countries to search the history of their residential places. One of the key reasons behind this new interest is that it will give an idea about previous residents of those places.

Among the many reasons for the above interest, the main reason is that searching the past will give an idea about previous inmates of those households. It is quite common in Asian context that living areas will be inherited from relatives so that searching the history will allow them to learn about their ancestors and the troubles they went through building them. For instance, in Sri Lanka most houses are handed over generation to generation hence it will help the present family members to learn about their close relatives.

There are many modes of finding these details. The best way is to contact the local governing authority as it contains the documentary evidence of the developments those locations went through over the years. In Sri Lankan scenario it is the pradeshiya sabha, urban council and town council. Another valid option is to meet employees in the district land registry where documents are stored. An informal method to gather details is to talk to people in the neighbourhood as it is very likely that they are aware about the changes in the past.

In conclusion, the new interest of looking for the history of the residential places is due to the fact that people’s desires to learn about previous inmates and it is reassuring to have formal sources like local authorities and district offices as well as neighbours to provide those details.