In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting University studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Young generation more intend to travel or work in most countries during the transitional period of high school to university. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages in late teenage employment and traveling.

Cognitive development is the key advantage of traveling or employing until getting selected to university. Young school leavers improve their critical thinking and analytical skills while working. Through working they gain independency and contribute to the economy of the country. In other hand traveling is another option to spend this window period productively. Instead of reliving stress, traveling is highly beneficial to improve creative thinking and problem solving skills. Successful entrepreneurs like Elon Musk and Bill Gates entered to the workforce soon after completing the high school. Both working and traveling creates a platform for young generation to practice the theories they had learned in their class rooms.

Conversely work related stress and risk taking behaviors are major disadvantages of encouraging traveling and late teenage employment. Therefore traveling alone or as teenage groups has increased evidence of drug abuse, unplanned teenage pregnancies and comorbidities. However comparing to traveling, it might be beneficial to encourage young generation to work. Negative effects of encouraging young generation to work are developing work related stress, occupational anxiety and moderate depression. Lacking in coping skills can increase addiction to drug or alcohol.

Encouraging young people to work or travel have both positive and negative effects. These effects are highly personalized and may differ from individual to individual.