Due to development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of the local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This is a fact that due to globalization and industrialization, some companies are expanding gradually that could take over the small businesses. While I am completely agree with this trend that local communities may die with shutting down the tiny businesses, some protection should be provided to the local businesses.

On the one hand, There are many potential reasons of why large companies are accountable for the dissolution of local businesses. Firstly, In today’s materialistic world buying habits of people has changed as people love to buy branded products, that indicates their status among other people in the society aa well as quality is better than the local cheaper products. Therefore, spending more money to purchase items from the supermarkets leads to the progress of supermarkets and closure of local shops. Secondly, price concessions are being provided by the supermarkets and big stores such as discount on large quantity, cash discount, guarantees and warrantee and the after sale services which attracts the customers towards them. Therefore, demand for better quality products is being increased instead of local products. Finally, Supermarkets has be widened and capable of providing every item under one roof as customers can buy everything at one location rather than finding different things out from other locations. Hence , convenience must be at top for the end users for the best shopping experience to them.

On the other hand, closing off local business are down to the expansion of large entrepreneurs because of various reasons. First of all, A big amount of finance is required for opening up a new business in fact finance is the backbone of the business during entire life span as business needs to spend first in order to earn in later. So, micro businesses are not able to compete with the macro businesses pertaining to lack of financial resources. In addition to this, if any store have a tendency to provide quality products them consumer will go back to that store; however, the small business can not provide the costly and higher quality products. As a consequent, they are at the verge of death. Apart from this, local business do not have only less variety of products but also they are unable to contribute in the social welfare that is an important reason of closing down of these businesses.

Whereas, authorities should support the local business by allocating businesses loans so that they can survive instead of being fully unemployed that will also give whole wealth to large businesses.

To conclude, Although supermarkets are growing and providing wide rage of services to meet the needs of customers yet i believe that local businesses should be saved for the society.