Due to increasing world demands for oil and gas energy, people need to look for new sources of energy in remote and untouched natural places. Do advantages of locating these sources outweigh disadvantages damaging such places?

It is true that the demands for energy are becoming greater than ever and people are advisable to find out new sources of oil and natural gas in distant and isolated regions. However, I stand with point that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, there are compelling reasons why discovering of oil and gas reserves in faraway places is beneficial. Placing more power stations in remote and untouched region would create a great number of jobs for the inhabitants here. Like industrial zones, these power plant require a huge quantity of worker and employers to make them perform well and operate properly. Moreover, having a stable stream of energy could balance the price of petroleum. It is obvious that the shortage of oil will not only lead to a rise in fuel price but also inscrease the cost of other goods and services.

On the other hand, energy exploration and production activities might lead to many serious consequences. The primary reason is that extensive exploitation could put the environment in such places in jeopardy by harming its biodiversity and natural habitats. For example, oil extraction companies frequently disposed of drilling waste into oceans and their transportation activities carry a huge risk of oil leaks and oil spills, which not only kill marine organisms but also poison the food chains of many species living around oil rigs. Furthermore, although the government poures money into oil exploration in faraway provinces, there is no apparent evidence that their exploration efforts will paid off. This amount of money should be better spent on renewable energy sources to serve the growing needs of global use and avoid posing a threat to the environment.

In conclusion, although the advantages of discovering and exploiting new sources of energy are undeniable, I do not believe that we should damage remote and untouched places for energy due to its environmentally unsustainable and potential risks.