These days, Illegal activities have been rising annually. There are various reasons for this scenario. This essay will discuss the causes and provides possible preventive measures to counteract this situation.

To begin with, poverty is the primary reason for people committing anti-social endeavors. Most of the crimes occur out of necessity and desperation for money, and this is correlated to unemployment. For example, 80% of the criminal activities are theft or extortion which are done for monetary purposes. Also, drugs and alcohol constitute to breaching of laws to a great extent. These not only diminish the thinking capacity of individuals but also drives them out of their senses. For illustration, in most of the hit and run cases convicts are either alcoholic or drug-addicted. Thus, poverty and drug addiction play a major role in the violation of laws by people.

However, these activities can be inhibited by some counteractive measures. Firstly, criminal activities are predominantly nocturnal. So by increasing surveillance during the night, these can be successfully eradicated. As a demonstration, crime rates In India have significantly decreased since the implementation of surveillance cameras in the streets. In addition, imposing strict admonitions can induce fear into persons tending to be a nuisance to society. For instance, since the extension of imprisonment time for physical violence, individuals are now less probable to indulge in fights. In these ways, law and order can be established successfully.

To conclude, there are certain causes like alcoholism for a surge in the rate of criminal activities. Nevertheless, these can be curbed by various actions like an increase in surveillance during the dawn.