Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Crime has been a disturbing issue of all walks of life, especially nowadays, these unlawful actions are on the increase. There are a lot of factors which contribute to the rise in the crime rate, so finding the right key to solve this issue is a must.

In order to solve this disturbingly rising issue, we must first understand what caused it. To begin with, people with few or no education have a high chance to commit a crime as early as a child or later in their life. If a person is not taught with the basic knowledge of morality and law, he or she will be more prone to breaking a law. In addition, greed, one of the largest sins which people have, also leads a person to do wrong things. For instance, there are many cases which involve law enforcers being bribed and turn corrupted had been brought out to justice.

With the above-mentioned reason for crime in mind, there are now several solutions to combat the issue. At first, prison sentences will be the perfect and instant punishment for evildoers. Because this will take away the offender freedom and making sure that they learn that unlawful actions have consequences. However, for the long-term solution, it would be wise to invest in education due to some advantages it has on our society like create the workforce needed for future development, reduce the illiteral and poverty rate. Nevertheless, building a good education system for the future generation acts as a deterrent to future crime as well as help contribute to the national wealth.

In conclusion, wrongdoings are caused mostly by illiteracy and people’s greed, so the key to prevent it for the short term is by punishing the offender and for the long-term should be by education.