Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rising trend of crime globally appears unprecedented. This essay will discuss unemployment as a principal cause of this development and then suggest practical measures to solve this phenomenon.

A plethora of reasons account for this negative trend; to begin with, a significant number of citizens remain jobless. The youth, the principal victims of unemployment, have become desperate to make ends meet. As a result, most of them, being gullible, are enticed to engage in criminal activities, such as robbery and theft to meet their necessities of daily living. Instrumentally, the penal system in many states leaves much to be desired. The judicial services, which have the statutory authority to administer justice, fail to ensure fairness due to favouritism and nepotism. Many are motivated to engage in criminal acts, given that worse culprits go unpunished; a regrettable development.

Nonetheless, the state and other stakeholders can take prudent steps to tackle criminality. Firstly, the government must give enough employment avenues for all citizens, especially the youngsters. If a considerable proportion of the youth work, it will not only decrease crime rate, but also reflect positively on the economic statistics of the nation. In furtherance, the judiciary must be empowered to discharge their duties in fairness, without fear or favour. International bodies, such as UN and ECOWAS must also sanction any country that shields crime. Consequently, residents, young and old alike, will be deterred from committing crime.

In conclusion, the ascending rate for crime as result of unemployment and judicial bias cannot be refuted; nevertheless, job creation and judicial fairness can help fight this disturbing development.