Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent technological developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Earlier technological progress had been great with many far-reaching breakthroughs, especially in the early period of the last century. However, the benefits and changes brought by the earlier technological developments to the lives of ordinary people cannot compare with those brought by recent ones. Therefore, I disagree with the given statement. In the following paragraphs, I intend to support my opinion with my arguments.

Undoubtedly, recent technological developments have benefited and changed our life so much that we enjoy almost all the comforts and conveniences that life can ever offer. Today, we can breakfast in Japan, lunch in Singapore and dine at New Delhi. This is all because of the faster means of travel. The Internet has revolutionised communication. Today we send and receive e-mails at the click of a mouse. We chat and do video conferencing with our kith and kin in any part of the world. These are just two examples of how dramatically recent technological developments have benefited and changed our life.

Furthermore, in the field of medicine, we have gadgets to diagnose cancers and many other diseases at such early stages that almost complete cures are possible. Also, if we look at the means we use to go to work, the electrical appliances we use at home, the devices we use in offices, the facilities and equipment we use in factories, we can say with certainty that recent technology has transformed our lives beyond imagination.

Admittedly, earlier technological developments did benefit and change the lives of ordinary people from the time when they were achieved, especially after the Industrial Revolution. However, it is self-evident as to what benefited and changed people‘s life more, telegraph or mobile phone, Phonograph or Mp4, Steam train or the monorail?

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that recent developments of technology have certainly benefited and changed our lives more than the earlier ones did.