Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With rising costs of living and commodities and ever-increasing competition in the job market, obtaining a solid education is becoming increasingly more important. While more people are pursuing a solid education till university now, several of them are burdened with the cost of it. Making education free for students via government funding can result in a win-win situation for the country as well as each student by contributing towards the economy in the long term while also reducing the financial burden on the students.

Despite education being one of the most important aspects of one's life, it is one of the first to be let go of in times of financial crises. Several students either drop out of schools and universities due to inability to pay their tuition fees or end up burdened with hefty loans for a large part of their adult life. Having the government fund education can ease this pain for many and also significantly improve the literacy rate of a country. An increased percentage of educated individuals in a country can prove advantageous for the country's economy as more skilled workers are available in the country to provide different services. Therefore, in the long run the benefits of educating an individual far outweigh the cost associated with it for the government.

Furthermore, institutions getting funded by the government would be more inclined to make the admission process solely merit based and less likely to accept donations or bribes by students trying to get a spot at the school. This means that only those students who are fit to study a certain subject or course will be able to do it, further reducing drop-out rates and improving the chance that these students will be able to contribute towards a better society.

All in all, the government should pay for education from preschool through university as it can boost the literacy rate and economy of the country while also improving the person's standard of living.