Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to the constitution of most of the democracies around the world and various Human Resource organizations , Universal education is a basic fundamental right to be provided to all of its citizens free of cost by the government of the land. Hence I strongly believe that education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students.

I can provide a few reasons as to why I agree with the proposition. Firstly Education is a cash-intensive sector , requiring huge investments to set them up , upgrade as per the latest standards and keep them running . So, once if a private institution is set up and is in operation , it needs to absorb exorbitant amounts of funds from students , who may not be economically stable to pay it all up. So a huge section of students are left out of good education , at any level. This disparity can be solved if the government funds the education of students through grants, aids and other cash-transfer benefits. For example in the state of West Bengal, the authorities are giving out scholarships to BPL (below poverty line ) category children to fund their studies and also has brought many students under several beneficial schemes.

Secondly , by paying for the education of students Government are effectively socially uplifting a huge section of the society- the lower middle-class, and the impoverished ones. Their parents won't have to worry whether their kids would live like them. This makes a new tax-paying class who will fund the economy and boost nation's growth parameters like GDP. For example a poor man's boy who would be employed otherwise employed as child labor ,would be sent to a school , then college to be educated for free. The child would be an earning member to support the family and won't live in tatters like his father. He would graduate into a taxable member of the society who would fund others' education via taxes. This cycle will uplift a class.

Finally education if free would free the society of its's orthodox ideals. Take an example of a girl child who might be child-married , if goes to school will be an educated lady capable of choosing her partner

So I truly believe that education, from preschool through university, should be looked after by the State, not only because they are bound to so but also such a policy will make nation a superpower .