Even though governments have worked hard to bring about improvements in the healthcare system, the overall standard of physical health in developed countries is decreasing. What are the potential reasons for this, and what are some of the long-term effects?

Nowadays, although there are countless advancement in science, technology and human society, the deterioration in citizens’ health in wealthy nations has been a matter of great concern. Physical problems such as cardiovascular diseases, obesity,…. are becoming more and more prevalent in these countries.Hence, understanding existing reasons as well as potential long-term impacts are necessary. This essay will explain the reasons, along with the long-lasting effects of this trend on individuals.

One of the prominent reasons for such problem happening in wealthy countries is due to the terrible lifestyle individuals are having. Firstly, the fast-paced life and competitive work atmosphere have almost made every resident a workaholic. People are all wrapped up with their jobs and as a consequence, they have little time to take care of themselves. Therefore, they become more susceptible to stress which greatly affect their work-life balance and can result in serious health issues like anxiety or depression. Additionally, the blooming of technology and advanced societies is also to blame. The fact that individuals nowadays are in closer contact to smart home devices which make their life easier has spawned a sedentary lifestyle community, becoming more physically inactive and more likely to catch chronic diseases. For instance, the arrival of cleaning robots has made more and more people take chores as given, which leaving bones and muscles untrained then getting weak and degenerating.

Nevertheless, these lifestyle choices will have irreversible repercussions to not only their own family but also the society. Regarding the former, if generation keep on partaking the aforementioned unhealthy habits, their descendants will become prone to suffer from unwanted illnesses. For example, the offspring, affected by their careless parents who either are work-obsessed or take couch potato into daily routines, will just imitate those behaviours, thus passing those down to even later generations. With consideration to the latter, these lifestyles can cause increased requests for health-care services, consequently rocketing the costs of it and be unaffordable to ordinary citizens.

In conclusion, the awful lifestyles, competitive job atmosphere and fast-paced culture are certainly to blame for the declining of public health and I am convinced that this phenomenon has a number of negative implications for family and society.