Even though governments have worked hard to bring about improvements in the healthcare system, the overall standard of physical health in developed countries is decreasing. What are the potential reasons for this, and what are some of the long-term effects?

With the prospection of society, although the standard of living is becoming better and better in every aspect, especially the healthcare system, the general quality of physical health is witnessing a downward trend in rich countries. There are several reasons contributing to this problem, and this essay will shed light on some possible causes, as well as potential long-term effects.

Lifestyle choices play an important role in our lives and become the major factor leading to poor health status in developed nations. The fact is that the more hectic the pace of life is, the greater citizens pay attention to purchasing their goals. Therefore, consuming fast food due to its convenience gains much popularity among residents in order to save time. That is the reason why recently there are a boom in junk food restaurants and chains that has enticed people to eat at these establishments as a substitute for enjoying meals at home, McDonald's for example. In the long run, this unbalanced diet could get into a habit that is pretty challenging to break. In addition, stress is also a key element contributing to poor health in thriving countries. It is apparent that today employees are up to their eyes in tons of work to keep up with the fast-paced change in the competitive labor market. As a result, there is little to no time for them to eat nutritious meals or take care of themselves.

These life choices will have a long-lasting negative impact on both physical and mental health. Spending almost time devoted to their jobs without doing physical exercises may make them suffer from diabetes or obesity, resulting in several heart problems. Even worse, if the generation continues to partake in these unhealthy habits, they will continue in the generation to come. For instance, parents who have diabetes or are prone to obesity have a higher chance of passing these conditions on to their children. Furthermore, making matters serious they have to take meditation for the rest of their lives, and ultimately all these factors will put a strain on the workforce and health budget of the countries. According to a recent report, one of the healthcare experts in Europe has forecast in 2030, nearly 75% of people more than 30 years of age will be in long-term meditation for chronic diseases.

In conclusion, life choices are primary factors ranging from unbalanced diets to higher stress levels, contributing to poor health which decreases the standard of life in prosperous nations. In the near future, not only the government but also individuals should join hands to tackle this issue for health betterment.