Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

Education is always one of the top priorities among nations around the world. However, recently, there is an alarming trend of students struggling to focus at school. This can be explained by the ubiquitous social media applications and rigid adherence to a traditional teaching approach. This essay will shed light on more detailed reasons behind this trend as well as viable long-term solutions for this issue.

One major ground behind the rising trend is distractions from various social media platforms. Due to the fact that today we live in the era of cutting-edge technology, people, particularly youngsters have spent almost their time surfing on the Internet, and watching other mainstream platforms for tremendous purposes. To give an example, Facebook and Instagram recognized and grabbed this opportunity to strive for consistent engagement through positive reinforcement by pushing real-time updates on friends and viral videos. Therefore, the youth may be enchanted and deadly indulged in themselves in those content, thus easily ignoring throughout lessons. Another reason springs from the monotony of classrooms. Many lessons do not quite show the interesting connection between tedious hypotheses and the useful application of real life. Moreover, those lessons are often endorsed a repetitively by the same theoretical assignments. As a result, this method does not create an engaging and dynamic learning motivation for students.

Actions should be taken into consideration in order to tackle this problem and foster inspiration for learners. First and foremost, schools should impose a strict regulation to make use of smartphones while attending classes. All those portable devices could be stored in a secure room and will be returned after class hours. This way would effectively minimize the source of distractions from online networking sites. In addition, educators could work in collaboration with enterprises to integrate factual case studies and engage biographical material about entrepreneurship. After attending courses, pupils are likely to be motivated to concentrate on studying and make remarkable progress. Furthermore, both teachers and mentors should impart knowledge in various methods, particularly incorporating a combination between content and visual infographic or audio to catch students’ attention. Therefore, ensuring higher chances of success after graduation.

In conclusion, a great number of students nowadays pay little attention at school due to the advent of social media platforms and lessons largely irrelevant to their needs. Nevertheless, if schools adopt handset-free classroom policies and modernize the curriculum, students will become more attentive.