Topic: Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the era of cutting-edge technology, the global economy has prospected more dramatically than ever before. With the purpose of generating more and more revenues, businesses has stimulated various advertising campaigns all year round. Therefore, this trend raises concerns among consumers about whether it is a good or bad development. From my perspective, I contend that this trend may do more harm than good for the community.

One major ground behind the reason why this issue may have an adverse effect on people is that consumers are likely to be overwhelmed with tremendous information. With an excessive amount of information, consumers cannot recognize specifically whether it is the official mainstream or fake news of crimes so as to take misleading among citizens. As a result, citizens easily get wrong perceptions about several aspects of life associated with healthcare and true beauty. For instance, today there are many commercials launching campaigns about beauty to promote their skincare products or diet medicine by displacing celebrities' or models infographics with standard body proportions. This approach has led to the misconception of true beauty, thereby a vast number of women are destined to use diet products strictly to gain an ideal body like models, causing severe consequences affecting their well-being later.

Furthermore, one of the negative effects in regard to advertising activities is their potential to invade personal privacy. With the support of breakthrough technology, advertisers are capable of collecting personal data from consumers without their permission to generate vivid and personal commercials. For example, social media platforms such as Facebook or Instagram, are believed to track user activity and browsing history to tailor advertisements for each individual. This can be an alarming issue since users no longer feel safe and secure when utilizing these platforms due to being monitored, analyzed, and exploited by companies. The more advertising pervades our lives, the less privacy we are likely to have.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the increasing prevalence of advertising in everyday life is a negative development, given its disruptive nature and potential violation of personal privacy.