Topic: The use of social media (e.g. Facebook and Twitter) is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life.

In the realm of cutting-edge technology, people today pay much attention to utilizing virtual reality, and online platforms such as Facebook or Twitter as a substitute for interacting face-to-face daily. Yet there are many opinions on whether virtual reality is a positive or negative trend for the community. From my standpoint, I believe that this current trend will do many wonders for human life.

One major ground behind the reason why several people suppose to use social media platforms will do more harm than good for people’s lives is that this approach might decrease the effectiveness of daily communication. In fact, interacting through portable devices, in the long run, is likely to reduce the frequency of having intimate conversations. As a result, people are not capable of expressing their emotions as well as opinions effectively, leading to easily getting into trouble with miscommunication, even breaking a valuable relationship. In addition, if residents spurle too much time on indulging themselves in social mainstream, and neglecting other people surrounding them, they may have no interest in connecting with current life. In a long-term perspective, these people are likely to undergo isolated period, having an adverse effect on their mental health.

Nevertheless, the tendency towards utilizing social networks for communication is more advantageous overall. The first advantage is that social media allows people to get instant access to the wealth of information at their fingertips so that they can connect with neighbors around the world without much difficulty. This powerful function has completely done away with geographical barriers and maintained tight relationships no matter how the distance is. Furthermore, in the era of globalization, people have to be proactive to update the latest information to keep pace with the developments on the globe. Hence, thanks to breakthrough virtual communication, people can get access to various websites, forums, or social media platforms to raise their voices and deliver novel ideas to the community.

In conclusion, the growing reliance on social media for communication comes with certain drawbacks, such as a potential decrease in the depth of interpersonal connections and a risk of social isolation, I am convinced that the merits of this trend will facilitate human life by doing away with the distance barriers as well as stimulating social activism.