Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Nowadays, individuals should tend to damage their environment, which will have a huge impact on their life in the future. This essay will discuss the current environmental problems and what governments and individuals should do to alleviate the issues .

There are two of numerous problems which people act to threaten the environment. First of all, most people use private vehicles to move to another place because they feel relaxed and comfortable when they just utilize it to serve their demands. Besides that, they also use plastic bags for any cases. This means individuals are not aware that they need to reduce the quantity of plastic bags in their house to protect their environment. Taking Vietnam for example, according to the University of Vietnam Technology, more than 75% of citizens do not bring their own bags to go to market, instead, they will use plastic bags in supermarkets for more convenience.

On the one hand, governments should introduce new laws to limit emissions from personal vehicles. Taking public transport is highly recommended instead of driving. For example, during Covid-19 pandemic, the amount of emissions that are released to the environment reduced significantly, from 53% of pollution in the air to about 35%. In addition, the governments should widely promote recycling as much as possible.

On the other hand, people should choose products with less packaging and bring their own bags to go to market for more environmental reasons. They need to be aware that they are the main factor which cause the current state of the environment. Additionally, they can enhance and apply more knowledge and catch up on the news about how the environment changed during the past 10 years.

Overall, there are many environmental factors related to individuals, but this does not mean that only citizens need to tackle and handle that, it also involves the governments in every country around the world. I suppose that both governments and citizens need to alter for the more positive signals about the environment.