In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, an ever-increasing number of young people who are above 18, decide to live with their parents, even when they have completed their schooling and seek jobs. Despite the fact that the advantages of this problem could be pronounced, they are still outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are numerous short-term perks which must be considered. First, those who are still living with their parents will not consider their meals or the nutrients they add into their body. Besides that, they do not have to pay daily expenses for themselves. Secondly, parents, especially Asian ones, usually consider whether their children can truly look after their life. Hence, their children are kept at home and cared by them. This is the only way which can make parents feel pleasure. Taking Vietnam as an example, although they are not under 18, most young adults still do not do their personal hygiene and rely on the help from their parents.

On the other hand, living longer with parents brings various downsides. First, the people who follow this lifestyle will be more and more sedentary day by day. They have to depend on their parents for most daily work at home. Second, if they stay at their own house longer, they will not suffer from the feeling of having to make money. This can lead to growing stagnation and they do have no motivation and any ambition to make money. Thirdly, they do not even know how to manage their spending, which they only learn when they are isolated with their parents.

In conclusion, there are a plethora of short-term merits which young people can have when they live with their parents. However, to earn more long-term benefits, parents should be more strict to let their children out of home.