The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fact that could not be denied is fossil fuels are still our chief sources of energy to day and people have not found another energy to completely alternate it. But we have to admit that there are many bad consequences for environment because of using fossil fuels. Therefore, I agree that finding alternative source is certainly the most important global priority.

Using energy from fossil fuels is an essential part that contributed to the success of Industrial Revolution which changed while life of human. Almost countries develop their industries and economies with mass-product machines and vehicles fueled by coal, gas or oil. However, we are now well aware of the environmental drawbacks of over-reliance on fossil fuels. Global warming, acid rain, greenhouse effect and the damage to the protective ozone layer are caused by carbon dioxide released from burning process of fossil fuels. It threatens environment and our life in short and long term.

As a result, reducing dependence on fossil fuels needs efforts from international community because no action by a single country could solve this. While some countries have budgeted for researching and developing alternative such as wind, solar and hydro power, it seems that there has not been sufficient investment in technology to make such alternatives practical for all. For instance, a car used electric instead of oil could not be driven frequently because it does not have enough charging station in city. Exploration environmentally friendly energy sources is a way to achieve sustainable development for this planet and next generations.

To conclude, I completely agree that finding alternative energy to fossil fuels is the most pressing global priority , if not the most important one for our world today.