Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When they finish school, teenagers face the dilemma of whether to get a job or continue their education. While there are some benefits to getting a job straight after highschool, I would argue that it is better to go to college or university.

On the one hand, the option to start work straight after school is attractive for many reasons. Firstly, people could start earning money earlier. That means they have more time and chance to gain experience, learn skills and, of course, save more money. Secondly, getting a job straight after school helps teenagers have financial independence from their family. Thus, they can manage their life by themselves, have their own plan for their career. Moreover, financial ability helps workers afford a house and have stable basis for their own family. Another reason is worker can settle down earlier and have more time to enjoy life by the way they want.

On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to continue their studies at college or university. Nowadays, labour market is one of the most competitive side of society. Worker not only have to compete with each other, but also with robots, modern technology in 4.0 era, for instance AI technology. Hence, having knowledge from university or college gives worker a substantial competitive edge, especially with some jobs requiring academic qualifications. Having higher education after school does not waste time, because students can have better job opportunities and higher salaries after graduation. With their scope of knowledge and academic performance, they have many ways to become a useful member of society.

For the reasons mentioned above, it seem to me that students are more likely to be successful in their lives if they pursue their studies beyond school level.