Failure is a proof that the desire wasn’t strong enough. To what extent do you agree?

Some people are convinced that failure results from the lack of aims as they are not sure about their decisions However, some failures might also be caused by an external factor that is beyond a person's control.

Many people do not try hard to attain their goal is because they do not have a strong purpose. This is because they are not sure about their decision either, making them unable to have decent preparation to their goal and failing. For example, a survey conducted by Harvard Medical School towards their class of 2019 graduate found that the bottom 10% of the lowest GPA graduate at that time was not really having a desire to be a doctor at all. The only reason they stuck to the end was because of their parents made them to do so.

On the other hand, the involvement of an external factor could also be the reason why someone fails. This is because the world is too big for someone to handle something beyond their capacity. Even though they have prepared for the best, they will fail eventually because of the inability to avoid undetected threats. For instance, a lighting at a football match between Argentina and the United States in 2019 was found an electric short during the match. Even though the Argentina team had kept their performance high until the end for the 1-0 score, however, the score changed to draw eventually. The light issue became a big problem for the Argentina team, causing them off guard.

In all, although I believe that failure is caused by the lack of desire, nonetheless, an external factor might also be the reason why someone fails. Thus, both views need to be analyzed objectively to find the root of the problem.