Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital.

Addicts should be locked in prison to block their access to drugs. However, I believe hospital can be a long-term solution as it relieves them.

One the one hand, locking up addicts would restrict them to the prison walls, and they would no longer be able to consume heroine related products. This is because there would be tight security in the jail, and there would be no access to the illegal suppliers of narcotics. For Example, in US, since 2015 drug addicts have been punished by sending them to jail, and this has resulted in 40% decrease in the number of cases of drug addicts. However, I believe even after being released from prison, these people are likely to crave for drugs and would get access to the suppliers.

One the other hand, rehabilitation seems to be a long term solution to this problem, relieving them. Doctors who treat these kinds of patients are trained to wash their brains and teach them about the consequences of taking drugs. If they are treated like victims and supported with love and care, they are more likely to overcome their dependence on these products and leave them forever. This has been proven by a recent study by Oxford University that if drug addiction is treated like an illness, it can be removed completely. Therefore, I believe this is the best method which can eradicate the disease forever.

In conclusion, punishing men and women suffering from the problem of drug addiction by sending them to jail can restrict its consumption temporarily, but treating them with compassion and empathy in hospitals would help them overcome this habit in the long run. It is suggested that understanding them as human beings who actually need help to recover from drug addiction is one of the best choices that can be made by the government.