Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not parents of students attending private schools still need to contribute to public schools through taxes. While some argue that it is fair for those parents not to pay the taxes, I firmly believe that state schools should be supported by all members of society.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people claim that the taxes needed to be reduced for families whose offsprings study at non-public schools. Firstly, as families of private school students do not use the service of the public education system, they are not required to pay for it. For example, people do not pay for health insurance because they have personal doctors. Secondly, since they pay more than others do for the tuition fees of their students, the taxes are an unnecessary burden on them. If students from private schools and public schools paid the same amount of money, their families would agree to pay the same taxes.

On the other hand, I support the view that we should all be happy to pay our share of the money that supports the state schools. First, a high-quality education system is important to the development of a country. This leads to a well-educated workforce and a competitive labor market. For instance, even Singapore is a small country, its economy is highly ranked thanks to its well-developed school system. Furthermore, everyone pays the same amount of money for public services such as healthcare or infrastructure. If people just pay only for services that they used, the taxes might not be enough for maintaining necessary public services.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that all of us need to support the system of state education no matter where our children study.