More big shopping malls are being built and they replace small shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

More and more big shopping malls are being built and replaced small shops. While this tendency brings about several advantages, I would argue that its drawbacks are much more serious.

On the one hand, there are some significant benefits of building malls as a replacement for small stores. Firstly, huge shopping malls can provide customers with more varieties of brands and products than small shops do. This allows consumers to have more options in order to purchase the most suitable items. Secondly, companies need to hire more people to work at the malls such as staffs or cashiers, which provides individuals with job opportunities and helps reducing the unemployment rate.

On the other hand, I believe that this trend can bring about several serious disadvantages. First, in order to run shopping malls, companies have to pay more fees for workers such as managers or securities, which contributes to the price increasing. This means when shopping at the malls, customers have to purchase the same products but in higher prices than shopping at small stores. As a result, a large amount of money might become wasteful. Additionally, overcrowding is also a common problem in shopping malls, especially in holiday seasons. This might lead to the shortage of parking spaces and negatively affect consumers’ shopping experiences.

In conclusion, while replacing small stores with big shopping malls can bring about some real benefits, I strongly believed that its drawbacks are way more intense.