Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether or not criminals should be punished by being put into prison. In my opinion, it would be better if the government provided offenders with education and job training.

It is true that putting criminals to prison could guarantee safety for the society, because those people would not be able to commit more crimes. However, I believe it is more disadvantageous when all offenders are forced to go to jail. The cost of running and managing prisons is often costly as the government needs to invest much money on facilities and security. Furthermore, when criminals have to lose freedom and spend years of their lives in prison, they could become resentful. This would prevent them from being a good citizen after being released, which is a negative impact.

Personally, I believe education and job training are the best methods that can be used to help criminals become better citizens. Firstly, education could change offenders’ attitude in a positive way. Being educated, criminals would be able to distinguish between right and wrong, and they would realise that it is unacceptable to break the law. Secondly, job training is extremely important for criminals as it helps them to achieve a normal career after completing their sentence. Many people commit crimes due to their lack of money and become criminals such as burglars or robbers. Providing job training would help them earn a living when coming back to the society, and they would no longer have motivation to reoffend.

In conclusion, I think the government should provide education and job training for criminals rather than send them to prison.