It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that governments should focus on their citizens instead of supporting citizens from other countries. While it is true that the governments need to help their people, I would argue that providing support for others around the world is also possible.

To begin with, there are several reasons why governments should help people in their countries. Firstly, every countries have their own issues such as poverty in undeveloped countries or population aging in developed countries. Therefore, focusing on citizens and problems should be every countries’ top priority. Secondly, supporting residents from their own nation will contribute to the development of the country. For example, when residents are provided with better education, they will have chances to get great jobs with high paychecks. This will help increase the GDP of the whole country.

However, I believe that we can also support individuals coming from other parts of the world. First, in some countries, especially undeveloped countries, there are people having intense troubles such as infectious diseases or starvation. They and their countries are struggling to deal with these problems. As a result, it is necessary for prosperous countries to support the poor ones. Additionally, the support creates a remarkable image towards international citizens and might greatly benefit both countries. For instance, the help results in a positive relationship between two nations and might pave a way for removing trade barriers or increasing trading.

In conclusion, while it is obvious that the authorities should focus on their residents, I strongly believe that it is also possible to help people around the world.