Fashion trend are difficult to follow. Some people think that they primarily exist fust to sell clothes so we should not follow them. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Over the past few decades, fashion has changed significantly in many countries around the word. While some people think that fashion designer’s profit motive is the main source produces these trends, I personally believe that fashion is far more than that, and people should pay attention to these changes.

It is indispensable that fashion is a way to interpret traditions, social values and ways of life during period of time in a particular place, and fashion trends reflect the changes and innovations in that society. For example, during the Middle Ages, women covered almost parts of their body in public place because sexual freedom was extremely repressed and people were extremely religious, whereas today in Europe, women are free from many restrictions on clothing. Therefore, it is not exaggerate to say that fashion is the outcome of culture and the study of fashion is actually the research into the culture evolution of human beings.

There are numerous reasons why people should follow the fashion trends but in this brief essay I will mention one that is fashion’s function in the modern age. The function of clothing nowadays is not just keep warm; the way people dress also demonstrate their personalities, professions and attitudes. Having a up to date fashion could help people to choose right look that shows their respect to others and reflects their personality traits better because designers display individualism in their work so as to inspire people to be creative in finding their own styles.

In conclusion, apart from aforementioned features above, I reaffirm that the fast-changing trends in clothing is far from catering for appetite of profits, and people should follow these changes